Visiting the Record Office

County Record Office exteriorAdmission is FREE and there’s no need to book. Here you will find all the information you need to plan your visit to the Record Office. We’ve produced this handy  PDF checklist to help you plan your visit.

How to find us

Christmas opening

Our opening hours over the Christmas period:

Monday 23rd December – closed to the public
Tuesday 24th December – closed to the public
Wednesday 25th December – closed
Thursday 26th December – closed
Friday 27th December – closed
Saturday 28th December – closed

Monday 30th December – closed to the public
Tuesday 31st December – closed to the public
Wednesday 1st January – closed
Thursday 2nd January – open
Friday 3rd January – open
Saturday 4th January – open
Closure for collections weeks

Monday 6th January – Friday 10th January – closed
Saturday 11th January – open
Monday 13th January – Friday 17th January – closed
Saturday 18th January – open

Admission and accessibility

  • There is no admission charge and you do not need to book an appointment.
  • Accessibility: Our searchroom is in a building with a range of accessibility features. Click here for accessibility information for the Record Office.
  • Our searchroom remains available throughout our opening hours.
  • We are not able to produce documents from the strongrooms between 12-2.15pm

Winter closures

The record office closes for two weeks each winter  to allow staff to work on a number of projects aimed at improving access to our collections. For information on our closure work, you can read our previous reports

Collections week 2019
Collections week 2018

CARN reader’s ticket

We are members of the County Archive Research Network (CARN) ticket scheme. These tickets are accepted at many different record offices.

If you don’t have a CARN ticket we can issue one to you. Please bring identification showing your name, address and signature.

  • A driving licence would be ideal,
  • A combination of documents covering these requirements is acceptable.

Research advice

Searchroom staff including professionally-qualified archivists are available during our opening hours to help you with your research.

If you would like an introduction to using the record office, please book a tour with a record office volunteer.

Services and facilities

Searchroom

For details of the services we offer, including ordering documents in advance and use of cameras and laptops in the searchroom, please see our searchroom services.

Shop

We have a shop stocking books, conservation supplies and gifts. Our quality second hand bookshop, Priory Books, stocks fiction and non-fiction books.

Reader’s Tea Room

We have a tea room for readers where you can buy a variety of snacks and hot and cold drinks. We also have three public PCs in the tea room which can be used without a CARN ticket. These have access to subscription sites such as Ancestry and Midland’s Historical Data.

Toilets are available on the premises.